What Comes After by Melissa Toppen


what comes afterA Master of Emotion is the only way I can think to describe Melissa Toppen.  When I saw that she was writing a follow up book to Ten Hours, I wasn’t sure if I could put myself through the wringer again, but I also needed to read What Comes After. It was the perfect way to end Abel’s story.

What Comes After follows Abel as he finds his purpose again after losing the one person he thought completed him. This story was so heartfelt and, at times, hard to read, yet it stayed true to all of the emotions a person feels when they lose someone close to them. My heart broke for Abel because I could feel his loss and his turmoil about moving on. I loved that he was still close with Claire, Finley’s sister, and that she played such a big role in helping him to move forward.

Peyton was the perfect person for Abel. It was really hard to get behind her at first because I adored Finley. I wasn’t sure how I was going to like seeing Abel move on, but Peyton made it easy. She was the bright light at the end of his very dark tunnel. She accepted and embraced Abel’s past and I loved that about her.

These characters and this story moved me and brought me to tears once again, only this time it was happy tears. Well done, Ms. Toppen, well done. This is a must read!

As of 08.13.19, What Comes After is available with Kindle Unlimited.

If you want to get bonus content from Melissa  Toppen, you can follow her on Book+Main  https://bookandmainbites.com/MToppenAuthor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s